Show Case Friday 18

20160426_120917

 

Cute, fun and fast. I love strip quilting and again it lends itself to scrap stash busting, leftover jelly rolls or binding strips.

Everything just goes together.

I have a question for you, I’m just curious. Do you iron your seams to one side or open? I iron my seams open, Effie irons her seams to one side. Why do you choose to iron your seams that way?

I iron my open as I love the flat look of the top when it is ironed. I also find that I can match my seams better when they are open and there is no bulk when I quilt. I first decided to iron them open when I was doing the Tokyo Subway Quilt Quilt-Along by Elizabeth Hartman of Oh! Fransson. She suggested the flat seams with her reasonings and I have never looked back. I am trying to convert Effie over to open seams but I haven’t had any success yet.

Let’s all be sew generous,

Suzanne

Leave a comment