Show Case Friday 15

20160426_120415

I really like how this quilt came together. The blocks came in one donation and I really liked the way they looked together and wanted them to be in the one quilt. The only problem was that there was not enough blocks and fabrics to make a lap sized quilt. This is where a design wall or graph paper come in handy.

For this quilt I worked out where I wanted each piece to go and then ‘filled’ in the rest with negative space. I don’t know if you have ever done anything like that, but for me this was a first. Breaking up the quilt into sections and then filling in the space and then piecing it together. It was a great experience that really made me realise that I love ‘modern’ quilting. I still love traditional quilting – I am half way through The Farmer’s Wife quilt and have the book, templates and cd for Dear Jane, but something about more modern quilting just sits really well with me.

Let’s all be sew generous,

Suzanne

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

